Vol 60 No 1 2020 

Page 2

Jane Dahlstrom, IAP Education Committee Chair 

Education Committee Report

We have had another productive year facilitating educational sessions both at major scientific meetings (United States and Canadian Association of Pathologists [USCAP] and European Society of Pathology [ESP]) as well as regional meetings through our educational support and Ambassador programs . Funding was allocated by the IAP Education Committee to four groups to facilitate their meetings occurring in underserved areas of the world during 2019. Reports from these meetings can be found here. These reports attest to the calibre of pathologists within the IAP who are willing to give back to their profession. Shortly, we will open the website to applications for bursaries to attend the XXXIII Congress of the International Academy of Pathology (IAP) to be held August 29 - September 2, 2020 in Glasgow, UK. 

The IAP Symposium for USCAP 2020 is a very exciting one, titled: ‘Digital pathology: Delivering pathology teaching globally’. Our speakers include: Rajendra Singh, Mt. Sinai School of Medicine New York, USA; Blake Gilks, VCH, Canada; Kar Ming Fung, Oklahoma University Medical School, USA; and Arrigo Capitanio, Linköping University Hospital, Sweden. 

This year, our educational session at USCAP addressed ways regions have assisted countries underserved in pathology with limited resources to deliver or improve pathology services. (USCAP Annual Meeting, 16-22 March, 2019, Maryland, USA). Our speakers included Drs Andrew Field (Australia), Francisco Couto (India), Dan Berney (UK) and Shivayogi Bhusnurmath (West Indies). Andrew and Dan spoke about their education programs with colleagues in Africa while Francisco presented on the delivery of teaching programs in Nepal. Bhus, on behalf of his wife, spoke about how resourceful their faculty was in continuing to deliver their pathology teaching program to hundreds of students following the cyclones that occurred in Grenada, West Indies in 2004 and 2005.

USCAP 2019 Annual Meeting, 16-22 March, 2019, Maryland, USA, IAP SymposiumSpeakers and chairs: Francisco Couto, Bhus Bhusnurmath (for Bharti Bhusnurmath), Dan Berney, Dietmar Schmidt, Jane Dahlstrom and Andrew Field 

The joint session with the ESP (31st European Congress of Pathology (ECP), 7-11 September, Nice, France) showcased pathologists from across the globe presenting on a challenging case in a session titled The case I will never forget. Our speakers included Cord Langner (Austria), Stephan Ihrler (Germany), Fiona Maclean (Australia), Inny Busmanis (Singapore) and Ales Ryska (Czech Republic). This session was very well attended with good audience participation.

31th European Congress of Pathology (ECP), 7-11 September, Nice, France), ESP-IAP Joint Session: Speakers and chairs (right to left): Jane Dahlstrom, Cord Langner, Stephan Ihrler, Fiona Maclean, Inny Busmanis and Ales Ryska 
IAP education committee during USCAP 2019 Annual Meeting, Maryland, USA Gary Tse, Allison Booth, Adekunle M. Adesina, Francisco Couto, Annette Schmidt-Graeff, Stuart Schnitt, Ray McMahon, Blake Gilks, Andrew Field, Jane Dahlstrom, George Kontogeorgos, Richard Scolyer, Sergio Sanchez Sosa, Dietmar Schmidt, Yong-Koo Park, Osamu Matsubara, Mary Leader, Bob Osamura, Bhus Bhusnurmath (taking the photo) 
Dietmar Schmidt (President IAP), Francisco Couto, Jane Dahlstrom(Chair, Education Committee IAP)
Dietmar Schmidt (President IAP), Sergio Sanchez Sosa, Jane Dahlstrom(Chair, Education Committee IAP)
Dietmar Schmidt (President IAP), Ghazi Zaatari, Jane Dahlstrom(Chair, Education Committee IAP)

Our committee met once this year in Maryland, USA. Our main agenda was to review applications for funding and further develop ways to assist junior pathologists in addition to sponsorship to scientist meetings. Three members completed their term and where acknowledged with a certificate of appreciation for their significant contributions to the IAP Education Committee over many years. They were Francisco Couto, Sergio Sanchez Sosa and Ghazi Zaatari. 

The three new members to join the committee in March 2019 were Anita Borges (India), Fouad Boulos (Middle East) and Clovis Klock (South America).

Finally, I would like to acknowledge the ongoing support of our assistant secretaries Mr Charles Ramey and Ms Allison Booth who ensure the smooth running of the committee and its activities. 

by Dr. Jane Dahlstrom

November 2019